Working

Trying to hold on to some little piece of normal by going to work, however, nothing about this is normal! We've officially been out of our home for 14 days, with no definite return date in sight. Today I am feeling grumpy, tired and my body is aching for some reason. I've been sleeping in a bedroom on a mattress on the floor, but I am thankful to not be one of the people sleeping on a cot in the gym of the evacuation centre, or in a tent in a parking lot.

Our managers want us to be doing some sort of work, so I have been sitting at an information table at the evacuation centre for a 9-1 shift. I could sit here all day, but there isn't much to do. I also don't feel comfortable going into another office. I know it is a bit rough for them to be switching people's floats and everything. I just really want to go home!

On Friday I registered us with Red Cross. I'm not exactly sure what will happen with that. People have been getting $600 for relief funds. I'm not sure how long that will take or if I even did it right. I guess we will see what happens. I may have just registered us for information for future events.

I am bored. I am tired. I want to go home!

Leave a Reply

